Festival venues

The Glass Cathedral Santa Chiara Murano

The Ex Chiesa di Santa Chiara Murano – a newly restored medieval church on the island of Murano in Venice, Italy – offers visitors an experience of authentic Murano glass and Venetian arts and culture such as does not exist anywhere else in Venice. Here you can see live demonstrations of Murano glass making by contemporary glass masters, create your own perfumes using the perfume bottles made in our Furnace or sip a glass of wine while watching our Glass Masters at work.

THE GLASS CATHEDRAL SANTA CHIARA
FONDAMENTA DANIELE MANIN 1, 30141 MURANO
VAPORETTO : MURANO COLONNA
FROM PIAZZALE ROMA
LINE 3 (22 MIN.)


Fondazione Giorgio Cini

The Foundation Giorgio Cini is a non-profit cultural institution based in Venice, Italy. It was constituted by Vittorio Cini, in memory of his son Giorgio, with the aim of restoring the Island of San Giorgio Maggiore (devastated after 100 years of military occupation) and of creating an international cultural centre that would re-integrate the Island into the life of Venice.
«The Fondazione Giorgio Cini’s mission is to promote the redevelopment of the monumental complex on the Island of San Giorgio Maggiore and encourage the creation and development of educational, social, cultural and artistic institutions in its surrounding territory.»
The creation of the Foundation was one of the most considerable private initiatives of the 20th century. The importance of this undertaking was borne out by the initial investment committed to rehabilitate the Island and by the many events the Foundation has promoted or hosted since. It is further substanstiated by the cultural patrimony conserved on the Island and, since 1984, at the Gallery of Palazzo Cini at San Vio.
Alongside the Foundation’s commitment to its own research and the conferences and seminars growing out of this work, the Island welcomes events sponsored by distinguished cultural and scientific organisations. It has even been the site of major international summits (most importantly the G7 in 1980 and 1987).
The role of the Fondazione Giorgio Cini is attested by the many highly esteemed intellectuals, artists, politicians and economists who have been involved in its programme, and by the recollections of scholars and guests who have spent time on the Island.

FONDAZIONE GIORGIO CINI
ISLAND OF SAN GIORGIO MAGGIORE, VENICE
VAPORETTO : SAN GIORGIO
FROM PIAZZALE ROMA & FERROVIA
LINE 2 (40 MIN.)


Squadratori Hall – Arsenale

A splendid structure, a symbol of the maritime power of the Republic of the Serenissima  that is the Italian Navy, with the support of the Superintendency of the Fine Arts and Landscape of Venice and Laguna, has been able to bring back to its former glory through an important work of architectural recovery, giving back to the the city of Venice  a great monument of its kind, an absolutely unique building, with an equally singular and fascinating history.
The site where it stood originally hosted a first building of the ‘500, intended for the storage of timber chosen for the construction of the ships. Later a long “tezon” (shed) in wood was built called “gran fabbricato a le sieghe”, where the trunks were neatly stacked, together with the boards already sawed to measure and ready for use.
Very ancient, the building was completely demolished and on its place began, in 1750, the work for the construction of a new building in masonry, intended for the same purpose, which was called “tezon dei squadradori”, completed in 1778.
Before the partial demolition, the building of the Squadratori constituted the most imposing construction of the whole Arsenal: 147 meters long, 28m wide, 16.80m high at the eaves and 22m at the ridge. It consisted of a single, grandiose compartment, limited by thirteen arches and rhythmed from circular eye windows. Inside there were squarers (arsenalotti), specialized in the square of the boards obtained from the trunks of oak, acacia, fir, larch, beech and walnut used for the construction of the ships.
After joining the Kingdom of Italy in 1866, the Arsenal underwent a profound work of reorganization and strengthening. Around 1880, the building of the Squadratori was affected by changes that profoundly altered its original appearance and structure: the overall length was reduced to 86.50 meters by the demolition of the north front arch and the five successive ones, substantial  changes that however, did not diminish its appeal.
In 2014, the Italian Navy launched an important and courageous architectural recovery project for the structure. To guarantee the safety conditions, it was necessary to carry out a series of works and services in preparation for the actual function of the environment, all with the priority of preserving and protecting the architectural asset with an inestimable historically-artistic value.
At the end of the intervention, completed in a very short time, it was possible to host the 10th Regional Sea Power Symposium of the Mediterranean Sea and the Black Sea in the Sala degli Squadratori, already in October 2015. Since then, it was also used for the 11th edition of the Symposium (October 2017) and for other institutional events.
An exceptional result, obtained thanks to the constant and active involvement of the Navy in the protection and enhancement of the Ancient Arsenal of Venice, in full synergy with the City and with all the institutional actors involved. A great work that makes possible to have a splendid architectural space available again in the heart of the historical city.

SALA SQUADRATORI – ARSENALE
CASTELLO 2409, 30122 VENEZIA
VAPORETTO : ARSENALE
FROM PIAZZALE ROMA & FERROVIA
LINE 4.1 (25 MIN.) | LINE 5.1  (25 MIN.)
LINE 1 (40 MIN.)
ON FOOT (35 MIN.)


Pietà Church

The church, on the waterfront a few hundred yards from Piazza San Marco, is Santa Maria della Visitazione, better known as La Pietà, or often simply the “Vivaldi church“, since it was at this Foundling Hospital that the composer Antonio Vivaldi, taught for many years.
Vivaldi was born close by the Pieta in 1678. His father was a barber who also played in the orchestra of the church of San Marco. Vivaldi soon became a virtuoso violinist, on occasion deputizing for his father. In 1703 he was ordained as a priest, a choice probably dictated by his wish to pursue a musical career. That autumn he became Violin Master at the Pieta, one of the city’s four great Foundling Hospitals.

CHIESA DELLA PIETA’
CASTELLO 30122 VENEZIA
VAPORETTO : SAN MARCO SAN ZACCARIA
FROM PIAZZALE ROMA & FERROVIA
LINE 4.1 (22 MIN.) | LINE 5.1  (22 MIN.)
LINE 1 (40 MIN.)
ON FOOT (35 MIN.)


Santa Sofia Church

Desired in this position by the noble family Gussoni and Giorgio Tribuno in 1020, it had in its first construction three aisles with octagonal apses. The church was very much loved by the musician Benedetto Marcello, who for it composed many of his famous Psalms. In this church he wanted his funeral to take place. The interior is basilic with the dome attached to the arms, and has maintained the three aisles, with full arches of nave and presbytery. On the sides of the entrance and the main altar there are four marble statues of the circle of Antonio Rizzo, dating from the second half of the fifteenth century.

CHIESA DI SANTA SOFIA
CANNAREGIO, STRADA NUOVA
CAMPO SANTA SOFIA, 30121 VENEZIA
VAPORETTO : CA’ D’ORO
FROM PIAZZALE ROMA & FERROVIA
LINE 1 (12 MIN.)
ON FOOT (15 MIN.)


Palazzo Ca’ Zanardi

Palazzo Ca’ Zanardi is a residential palace dating back to the 16th century which, over the centuries, has been added on to by various noble Venetian families and is one of the most evocative and beautiful palaces in the city of Venice.
Sumptuous and possessing particular charm, Ca’ Zanardi is located in a most peaceful setting and has its own delightful private garden as well as a magni cent terrace full of sun and colours.
Ca’ Zanardi is located close to the Ca’ D’Oro, the splendid 15th century gothic palace along the Grand Canal. It is easily reachable by foot, after a two minute walk from the Ca’ D’Oro water bus stop, or by boat using the palazzo’s private pier positioned along the fetching Santa Caterina canal.
The re ned elegance of the palazzo’s halls and common areas and the delicacy of its original 16th century furnishings create a fascinating setting.

PALAZZO CA’ ZANARDI
CALLE ZANARDI 4132
CANNAREGIO 30121 Venezia
VAPORETTO : CA’ D’ORO
FROM PIAZZALE ROMA & FERROVIA
LINE 1 (12 MIN.)
ON FOOT (15 MIN.)


 San Felice Church

The church was founded during the X Century , by Gallina Family. The structure of the building was restored the first time in XII Century , and in 1531 was completely re-built following the forms of Venetian renaissance. The tresures of the church were stolen during XIX Century so now it is almost completely white,  but some canvases were saved, among them a pala by Tintoretto portraying S. Demetrio.

CHIESA DI SAN FELICE
CANNAREGIO, STRADA NUOVA
CAMPO SAN FELICE, 30121 VENEZIA
VAPORETTO : CA’ D’ORO
FROM PIAZZALE ROMA & FERROVIA
LINE 1 (12 MIN.)
ON FOOT (12 MIN.)